PDA

View Full Version : What A Long Strange Trip It's Been [My Story on Hypochondria + Somatoform Pain]

CthulhuFtaghn
06-17-2011, 12:33 PM
Hey everyone!
Quick introduction; I'm a college student here in Quebec City, Canada, with a fairly typical experience with chronic anxiety, hypochondria, and to some extent, minor depression that for me occurs in a cyclical manner. I wanted to write this post for those who experienced similar symptoms, and partly to demonstrate in a narrative, hopefully entertaining manner, the strange ways of the mind. It's also, in a strangely therapeutic way, for myself.

It all started a not-so-joyful week ago while I was dutifully(sort of) typing my bi-weekly review for my low-paid, but most enjoyed student job. All was going well, until I felt a slight pain in my left ring finger. I paused, then looked at it.

It was already too late; I had in that split moment wiped my entire schedule for a week-long appointment with anxiety.

Just kidding. It didn't start last week. It began much, much earlier.

Flash back to 2006; a relative took an emergency appointment on my behalf with a local psychologist; I would have, but I wasn't in a state to pick up the phone. I had been lying down on my bed crying for a few days, and it's safe to say at this point that I was lucky I could tie my own shoes. This was my first serious encounter with anxiety. I had been wondering for about two months on whether or not I loved my girlfriend at the time, and it degenerated into absolute, full-time obsession.

The psychologist explained to me the obsessive process, and told me I most likely had Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and prescribed me anxiolytics to treat my cyclical "attacks". Attacks? Sort of. Everyday, I would progress from crappy in the morning, to absolutely abysmal in the evening, before returning to crappy at about 11 pm. And I couldn't help it. Every evening, I had 1/2 of a chance to pop a panic attack.