PDA

View Full Version : A life changing decision

ImJace
06-09-2011, 02:41 PM
Let me just paint a picture for you of who I am.

I am a 27 year old guy from Utah, and I have suffered from anxiety for my entire life. It started to peak when I was in high school, and I spent the follow 10 years fighting, struggling, and being controlled by anxiety. I have finally taken the steps necessary to take control of my anxiety, rather than letting it control me.

At best I was getting by day to day. I learned to accept my anxiety and was happy to just cope with it. This got me through the years, but there was no improvement, and when things got bad, they really got bad. I was missing work, relationships suffered and I was becoming physically sick. I decided I had to do something because anxiety was winning, and my quality of life was losing.

I am a freelance filmmaker and photographer which means I work strange hours, and have lots of responsibilities to make deadlines. I was also getting many offers to travel and work in really cool places, but I always turned them down because my anxiety created irrational fears of flying, travel, and being out of my comfort zone.

I also lost the relationship of someone very close to me because my anxiety was blinding me. A few months ago I finally hit what I can only describe as rock bottom. The anxiety was at it's highest ever and depression began to sink in. I was completely lost.

That's when it happened. While laying in bed in the middle of the afternoon I told myself it was time to do something about this. Either the anxiety was going to win, or I was. For me, one of my biggest fears in life was to go to the doctor. I was scared they would find something terribly wrong with me. It doesn't help that when experiencing high levels of anxiety our bodies will physically react in many ways making it appear that something is wrong with us, when it's not.