PDA

View Full Version : How Can you Succeed in Life with Anxiety?

Gladys
05-14-2011, 06:24 PM
Were you an anxious student who passed their exams and then successful in the workplace. If so how did you cope? I ask as a second introduction to the forum, because anxiety has meant that my life didn't go the way I planned.

jeremydoyle
05-15-2011, 11:40 AM
Hi Gladys,

I suffered from anxiety as a child, throughout high school, college and even today from time to time. My symptoms were the worst just after I finished college. I had a couple of anxiety attacks and found myself in the hospital a couple of times, so yeah, I've been there. I was an intern at a huge company the time and I wasn't sure if I had picked the right career path. I hated my internship and was worried sick about where I was going in life.

Now I'm 100x better. I manage a team of 10 people doing research and development. I love what I do and I live a pretty decent lifestyle, and still I'm aiming higher. :)

How did I cope? For me, it was a matter of self confidence. I started by challenging myself to do the little things I was avoiding as a teen. Just ordering something like ice cream was a challenge for me at the time. Learning to drive was a huge milestone. And even now, every day I try to challenge my fears and every day I get a little better.

I hope that was the kind of answer you were looking for,

-Jeremy

Gladys
05-15-2011, 02:47 PM
You know, Jeremy, you're pretty amazing.
To have any kind of anxiety and still succeed in life is great.
I gave way to the anxiety I went through, and never made it to where you are.
Why did I ask that question? Because too many people on this forum don't believe they'll be able to fulfill their lives in any way. Somewhere along the line, people like me used anxiety as an excuse to fail. I'm the wrong side of 50, but I see people writing how they feel like nothing in their posts, and it's important they know they can get wherever they want to.