PDA

View Full Version : Crippled by worry of what others think of me...crippled by worry of making mistakes

lawmomoftwo
03-17-2011, 03:24 AM
I have experienced crippling anxiety over the last several weeks. I was an intern at a family law practice and the attorney contantly made me feel like I couldn't do anything right. I'm the type of person that will work hard and do what it takes to get the job done. After almost 5 weeks with the attorney, I would go home feeling defeated..feeling like I would never be a competent attorney and even second guessing my decision to attend law school. Because of the issues I had with constantly being put down, my school decided it would be best to finish the remainder of my internship some where else. So for the past 3 weeks I have been a a personal injury firm. At first I went in with a great sense of confidence and positivity and now I find myself getting nervous for no apparent reason. My body shakes, my arms tingle, I can speak sometimes. I fear being judged by the others in the office and beat myself up for any mistake. I constantly have thoughts of not sounding intelligent or sounding stupid. I have thoughts that people think I am strange when I open up my mouth. Im constantly worried about what others think of me. This is crippling. I tell myself these thoughts are irrational. I try to tell myself positive things but the anxiety and panic has increased and i have been overwhelmed to the point i want to crawl in bed and never get out. Has anyone else had issues with being afraid of what others think of you and feeling the need to be perfect in everything you do?

LJC
03-21-2011, 02:29 AM
Hey there.