PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety increasing when relationships start to develop?

ss_worrier
01-09-2011, 07:35 AM
Hi! I'm new to this particular forum, though I've posted on one or two occassions in the general anxiety-forum. First -- I don't really see myself as a social anxiety sufferer. I am in CBT for general anxiety issues, and my general symtom image resembles that of GAD (though my therapist doesn't want to use syndrome labels at all), but social anxiety isn't really anything that I've recognized myself as suffering from. I believe that I am generally percieved by most people as a talkative, outgoing and happy person, and I regularly hold lectures in front of audiences ranging from college classes to government officials and ambassadors, and even though I may worry about these things weeks in advance and I usually have trouble sleeping on the nights before them (or even many nights ahead -- and I do worry al lot about the sleeping issue itself) I almost always manage to pull through without letting my nervousness hinder me.