PDA

View Full Version : Deep, philosophical thoughts.

smithha92
09-23-2010, 09:22 PM
hi everyone,

Im only new to this, but i am 18 years old and have had bad anxiety for a couple of months as a result of a major life stress. i feel as though i am recovering now slowly with help from mindfulness exercises.
however, I still have deep, philosphcal thuoghts about life that i struggle to get out of my head. some of them aare ridiculous such as, "what if this isn't real" etc.

Does anyone else have this, or have any suggestions?

thanks

ThePhoenix
09-24-2010, 12:15 AM
hi everyone,

Im only new to this, but i am 18 years old and have had bad anxiety for a couple of months as a result of a major life stress. i feel as though i am recovering now slowly with help from mindfulness exercises.
however, I still have deep, philosphcal thuoghts about life that i struggle to get out of my head. some of them aare ridiculous such as, "what if this isn't real" etc.

Does anyone else have this, or have any suggestions?

thanks

The mindfulness exercises are great and its all good for helping you relax but you have to steer clear of the "what if" thinking. That will get you no where!

Paul Dooley
09-24-2010, 03:09 PM
I think we all have such moments throughout life, but you're probably experiencing them even more than normal, both because of your anxiety, and because of your age. You're starting to "wake up" to life and that can be a little scary.

In the end, at least I've found, it's pretty much a waste of time to spin your wheels about things like "reality" and the meaning of life and all that.

You'll never find out, and neither will anyone else. Which is OK. Just live and experience as much as you can, with an eye toward being positive.

My most important tip would be this: Remember that you are what you think, so be careful of the thoughts you foster, because it's your thoughts that will turn into reality.

Best Wishes.

thistleburden
09-25-2010, 05:15 AM