PDA

View Full Version : my anxiety is affecting my boxing dreams

boxer
08-18-2010, 07:24 PM
I am a boxer and I have fought one mma fight but ever since I started having anxiety and panic attacks I lost my confidence and self esteem I had them when I was around 13 and felt fine for awhile then after I graduated my anxiety started again I wrestled in high school for a little bit and then I quit because I didn't think I was good enough and that's pretty much the story with every thing I feel inferior to everyone I have thoughts of going insane or losing control I have a burning desire to compete again but I don't know what would happen if I had a panic attack going in to the second round that's not the main reason I have competed again I can't even make myself get back into the ring I feel like I can't win

ThePhoenix
08-19-2010, 01:21 AM
I am a boxer and I have fought one mma fight but ever since I started having anxiety and panic attacks I lost my confidence and self esteem I had them when I was around 13 and felt fine for awhile then after I graduated my anxiety started again I wrestled in high school for a little bit and then I quit because I didn't think I was good enough and that's pretty much the story with every thing I feel inferior to everyone I have thoughts of going insane or losing control I have a burning desire to compete again but I don't know what would happen if I had a panic attack going in to the second round that's not the main reason I have competed again I can't even make myself get back into the ring I feel like I can't win

Your self talk and mental rehearsal are all wrong, you have to work on picturing yourself winning and being successful. Until you get to that point you will always struggle. Try talking to a counsellor who can work through some strategies with you.

jusroc
08-19-2010, 11:28 AM
you need to get a decent coach bro.

it all depends on why you train.

Perhaps you need to analyze your last fight and work out why you lost.