PDA

View Full Version : New to the room

athlete522
05-28-2006, 12:20 PM
Hi I'm new and happy I found a place to chat. I've always been an anxious person but for the last couple of years it has been debilitating. I've been in therapy and on medication for the last year. I'm a full-time college student and used to work but I haven't been able to for about the last year. I've had a few sunny days were I think everything is going to be all right but for the most part I feel like I'm going crazy! I can't keep a job much less interview for one, going out by myself is a big no no, and being in school stresses me out beyond belief. I do extremely well in school and want to transfer next fall but I'm afraid that my anxiety will keep me from doing anything! I'd love to hear anything that anyone has for advice or uplifting stories of thier own progress. Thank you all so much!

shoe
05-29-2006, 01:14 AM
Well, for me medication has been very helpful in dealing with going to college and other things. I'm still not good at socializing, but thats partly because I haven't had much experience with it other than online... so basically I keep to myself. But at least I can deal with things without having panic attacks :)

Has your therapy and medications helped you any?

athlete522
05-29-2006, 09:54 AM
It has helped. I feel like I've made progress, but not enough so I feel like me again, or enough progress that I can go about living a normal life. Now I can do simple things go to a store by myself, drive, be at home alone without my boyfriend, but I still can't do a lot. I still constantly worry about everything it consumes me. Could it be that maybe the medication I'm on isn't right?

shoe
05-29-2006, 11:13 AM
I can't tell you if the medication isn't right. I do see that benzodiazepines are frequently prescribed for GAD, but you didn't say what you are taking.