PDA

View Full Version : Was I diagnosed wrong?

Wildflower
08-03-2010, 07:51 PM
I was diagnosed with Panic Disorder. But after doing some reading, Im thinking I have Social Anxiety instead. Everything described as social anxiety fits me. Scared of people, crowds, going into stores by myself, eating/drinking in public, if im at the store with family and buying something I pick the line with a woman check out person, scared to deal with men. I hate talking to people/carrying on/starting a conversation.

I used to be so afraid to talk on the phone/call people, but I have been working on that, and it has gotten alot better, but I am still afraid to call back a man. I sell things online and I have to call people sometimes, and when I have to deal with a man, I will have somebody else call them for me. Not sure why I have the phobia/whatever you want to call it, of men.

ThePhoenix
08-03-2010, 08:23 PM
Hey Wildflower,

I am not an expert but panic disorder stems from anxiety if I am not mistaken. The social anxiety could be the root cause and the panic disorder being the manifestation of that if you follow?

Happy to be corrected but I think they are one and the same in many ways. That said, you will have to work on both elements of it.

Have you been working with some one or anything like that?

forwells
08-03-2010, 09:39 PM
Hi Wildflower

They are all based around the same things anxiety . They sort of just name it something diffrent because the symptoms may point that way .
For example you have trobule with people and someone else my have Compulsive thoughts .

I think that panic sounds about right for you and yours is based around social settings .

Do you know why you are like this ? Can i ask is it because of the way your anxiety makes you feel and you are scared that something may happen where you may make a fool of yourself .