PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety,exercise and the power of chemicals in your brain.

johannes6
07-20-2010, 04:35 AM
Hi everyone..as a personal trainer I have seen the positive results exercise WILL have on anxiety and depression.I have found a couple of quotes that I'm happy to share with you...Johannes6
1:
Exercise increases blood flow to the brain, releases hormones, stimulates the nervous system, and increases levels of morphinelike substances found in the body (such as beta-endorphin) that can have a positive effect on mood. Exercise may trigger a neurophysiological high-a shot of adrenaline or endorphins- that produces an antidepressant effect in some, an antianxiety effect in others, and a general sense of "feeling better" in most.
Michael H. Sacks, M.D.: Exercise For Stress Control.
2:
Exercise can be a powerful method of relaxation, and it can help people deal effectively with the stress of daily life. In various studies, researchers have found that exercise can decrease anxiety and depression, improve an individual's self-image, and buffer people from the effects of stress. Not every study has shown the precise benefits the investigators were looking for; but taken as a whole, the research strongly supports the common experience that exercise can elevate mood and reduce anxiety and stress. Some early studies even suggest that the stress-reducing effect of exercise-not just its cardiovascular benefits-may help improve physical health.
Michael H. Sacks, M.D.: Exercise For Stress Control