PDA

View Full Version : I'm a complete wreck

tascha333
07-06-2010, 01:39 AM
I am a newbie here and I'm desperate for some help. I have suffered from GAD with panic for several years, but recently my brain is out of control. My hypochondria has convinced me that I have a new illness every week. I can't take medications (even over the counter) because I am terrified of drug interactions or fatal side effects.

What has led me here today is the result of me trying to act like a normal human being this weekend. I took the kids for a hike in the state park which gave me a terrible migraine a few hours later. I sucked up the pain and tried to rest/distract myself. At around 9m, I decided I had to take something and reluctantly took 2 acetaminophen. Ahh relief, headache felt alot better. About 1am I found myself struggling from a bout of terrible acid reflux. I have prescription Zantac that I'm supposed to take 2x a day, but I can bring myself to do it. Once again, out of desperation, I tried to convince myself that zantac would not interact with acetaminophen (even though an interaction website said ranitidine increased blood plasma levels of acetaminophen in lab rats). I had to do something and I took the zantac.

Ok, so I made it through the night and didn't die from the interaction...ha, weird. I felt great the next day! A couple friends came over for a bbq and I decided to have a few drinks (I also had to stop drinking due to my panic about a year before). I thought wow, this is what normal feels like. Great! Then on drink #3 all of a sudden I realized that alcohol and acetaminophen =liver failure. Party over!