PDA

View Full Version : Hi, new here...

sniegs
06-25-2010, 11:13 AM
Hi all!

I'm a 25-year-old woman living with epilepsy and anxiety/depression.

I have been looking around on this forum for a little while ... my anxiety and stress levels have been especially high lately, and while my boyfriend has been wonderful in trying to understand me and my complicated brain, I feel bad for dumping my sometimes crazy and irrational thoughts/feelings on him.

I know I need therapy, and have needed it for some time, but I have been underemployed/unemployed since I graduated from college two years ago (I guess a Bachelor's Degree doesn't mean much these days), and so I can't afford much. Hopefully soon I can get more income so I can seek help. (At this point, I don't want to try anti-anxiety drugs - my anti-convulsants have more than enough side effects.)

My depression developed while I was in middle school, and my anxiety developed soon after my epilepsy diagnosis in early high school. (It seems like it was natural for me to develop anxiety due to my unpredictable seizure patterns ... I've always been very uncomfortable with things that are uncertain.)

With college, my anxiety worsened. I developed some social-anxiety issues as I progressed ... then came my OCD tendencies (I can never check the door locks often enough ... ever).

More recently, I've developed health-related anxieties. Every little pang I feel, I wonder if it's cancer. I had a full blood workup in April, and it all showed up normal. I still wonder if my doctor was lying to me, or somehow read the results wrong.
I've also developed an anxiety about germs (not so much a phobia, but I am certainly preoccupied with it).