PDA

View Full Version : Cannabis use and anxiety survey

Matt77
06-07-2010, 01:24 AM
Hi everyone!
My name is Matt and I am a psychology student at the University of New England (Australia). I am currently doing a study investigating the relationship between cannabis use and anxiety for my Honours degree in psychology. At the moment I am looking for participants to complete an online survey. The survey is completely anonymous, and takes about 15-20 minutes to complete. It does not matter whether you have tried cannabis before.

If you are interested you can email me at [email protected]. I would really appreciate your help. For those who are interested I have included some information about my study below.

Thanks for your time.
Matt

Study investigation: The relationship between cannabis use and anxiety

What effect does cannabis use have on anxiety? Although cannabis users frequently report higher levels of anxiety than non users, the nature of the association between cannabis use and anxiety is not well understood. While clinical studies have shown that cannabis can induce symptoms of anxiety in high doses, current research also suggests that cannabis may help relieve stress and tension. Accordingly, recent studies have shown that individuals who experience symptoms of anxiety often report very different effects of use. While some individuals report feeling anxious while intoxicated, others report using cannabis to relieve symptoms of anxiety.

A number of theories have been proposed to explain the high rates of anxiety among cannabis users, including genetic vulnerability, pattern and history of use, potency of cannabis used and the presence of preexisting anxiety disorders. However, due to the contradictory findings of previous research, scientists are still uncertain about the effect that cannabis use has on anxiety. While cannabis appears to induce anxiety in certain individuals, it also appears to help other people relax.