PDA

View Full Version : How to Meditate ?

mishka
05-26-2010, 04:53 AM
Can someone please tell me how best to meditate please. I've never done it before. I've bought a 'sounds of the forest' cd.

I have a problem when I lay down I get panicky, jerky and find it really hard to relax, is there a method you use ?

Thanks

forwells
05-26-2010, 05:46 AM
Hi mishka :)

I shall explain what i did and it may help you .

First off it is not hard , it is just learning to clear your mind .

I would put my Ipod on and lay on the bed , be comfortable , not hot , not cold . Lay on your back with your hands down by your side flat on the bed to start with .

Now just close your eyes and listern to the sounds , if your mind wanders do not worry , it will , just bring it back . What i use to do was focus on the inside of my eye lids . Pick what ever you chose to focus on , eg sitting in a forest , on a beach .

Do this for 20 minutes 3 times a day .

Now yes you will panic and jerky and thats ok , just feel it , now when you are meditation is time to show you mind that the symptoms of stress on your body is nothing to worry about . This will fade over time .

Tip i would have is dont even try to do this when you are at your worst , meditation is about teaching you mind and you get more benifit from it when you are calmer . So when you are calm still meditate as it will work better then .

One tip i learned also is your hands , put your thumb and next finger together when meditating . What happens is your body learns that when these are together it is to be calm . What should then happen is when you are feeling stressed in your day anywhere or anytime you can put these to fingers together and your mind will know that it is time to calm down .