PDA

View Full Version : Is this Anxiety?

Dave117
04-13-2010, 09:19 AM
I am a 44 year old male. Beginning in February ’10, I began wakng up out of sleep with a pounding heart and a tightened airway. This happened about 4 time over the course of two months. I have since had every test imaginable…cardio stress, upper GI, Pulmonary etc. All test came back negative for anything physiological.

My symptoms have deceased a bit but I still have a constant clenching in my airways from my epiglottis to my trachea. The only thing that gives me relief is an Atavan or Xanex. I sometimes take 4 a day on a bad day. My doctor is recommending I try Paxil or Zoloft. I have never used these types of medications before. I am not used to taking prescription drugs but feel forced to get any relief.

I have always had a stressful job but for some reason lately I have not been coping with the stress as usual. I used to work out 3-4 days a week but that has declined with the obstructed airway which makes me short of breath. What the heck is going on with me?

Looking for answers. I am open to suggestions.

njmom
04-13-2010, 01:17 PM
Have you had your thyroid tested??

Dave117
04-13-2010, 01:28 PM
Yes, thyroid test was negative

Adrenal
04-16-2010, 11:39 AM
Did you have a catecholamines blood test to rule out a pheochromocytoma?

Dave117
04-16-2010, 01:49 PM
My cardiologist is the one who requested the thyroid function test and I do not know if it covered the catecholamines which you refer.

I will tell you that I started Paxil 3 days ago and have noticed a dramatic improvement in my airway. I worked out yesterday and my heart rate was back to its normal pulse.

I still get an overwhelming feeling from time to time throughout the day when I am under certain stress but it is a hell of a lot better than a month ago. I know it takes Paxil about 3 weeks to really do its job but I am optimistic.

I have part of my life back anyway. Hoping for greater improvement.

IHatePanicAttacks