PDA

View Full Version : My anxiety has started again, need help quickly......

wb
03-29-2010, 02:01 AM
Hi, I'll try to keep this as short as possible.

I have suffered with panic attacks, on and off for a couple of years now. My job means that my predicament is a little different. I am a professional musician, and as such I have worked for years and years on cruise ships.
I was taken ill, with anxiety, and had to leave a ship a couple of years ago. Following this I was put on medication and had some therapy.
This worked fine, but of course I was back in my home enviroment with lots of help and support, which made me very quickly better.

Last year, my wife and I had our first child, a little boy, he really is the best.

My serious problem now is that I am due to go away again in a couple of weeks, and my anxiety has started to kick in again. I took one of my anti-depression pills last night (not taken them for a long time) but to be honest, it made me worse. Probably because it drew the attention to the fact that my anxiety has started again.

Regarding the ship itself, I now get very claustrophobic on ships (not being able to get off once it's sailed, kind of thing) which leads to panic attacks.
I really need to go and work as this is my job.
I still have all the notes and stuff from my sessions with the therapist, but any help at all will be appreciated, as I am starting to lose sleep over this, and the trip is still not for another couple of weeks.

please help guys
cheers

palow
03-29-2010, 04:10 AM
Do the opposite of what you normally do during a panic attack. Just tell it to go ahead and do its worse. Then feel every bit of the pain but don't stop there. Try to make the pain even worse.

Sounds crazy but this is the standard procedure for seeing your panic attack for what it is: a big fat illusion. If someone gave you a million pounds you'd never be able to make the pain worse. But you might burst out laughing because you can't.