PDA

View Full Version : anxiety and driving

Gaz28
12-28-2009, 08:50 AM
hi, just wondered if anybody else suffers anxiety whilst driving? I think i get it because i had a panic attack on the motorway 3 years ago, but i have never had one since but i still get anxiety, feeling like I'm gonna faint and feeling really spaced out and dizzy, then as soon as i get out of the car, i'm fine. anybody else get this? its driving me mad!

Jen3535
12-28-2009, 03:34 PM
I do this, i wont drive on the M25, even as a passanger, I always think something will happen to me and noone can get to me if i need help. i also get it whenever i drive, its like i cant breath deep, feel dizzy, and claustrophobic..i even bought a soft top to see if it helps, it does'nt.

I hate driving too far from home too

However if i pull the car over, get out i feel fine? i can get that deep satisfying breath, and feel free

kdog8173
12-28-2009, 07:00 PM
same here..i use to drive for a living..short runs like 2 min to each stop were ok but a hour was pure hell

12-30-2009, 06:26 AM
thats my biggest problem with anxiety

years ago i was driving and passed out and had an accident, no one got hurt , i ran off the road, its never happened again, dont know if anxiety caused it i was checked out by doctors for other things but all came back clear.

when im driving and feel a bit faint or light headed it brings on an attack fearing it might happen again, as i say it never has happened again, but i find myself looking for a spot on the side of the road i can pull over in a hurry if i need too, i find sometimes driving on a road where there is nowhere to pull over makes it worse. or sometimes when im driving up to a spot where i have had an attack before can bring it on as well, also driving with a passenger in the car can make it worse as i fear if it happens again and i harm them or some one else