PDA

View Full Version : i can't find the strength or energy to leave my room

beech wood
12-08-2009, 06:49 AM
i'm a freshman in college. i have been dealing (i think) with depression and anxiety for 10 years now. i haven't been going to class since the first semester started. i'm locked into a financial aid program where i am totally liable for all costs for each class i fail, and it looks like that's going to be every one. i haven't been able to get myself to go to class. i feel like everyone is judging me when i go somewhere. i know the way i'm thinking is completely irrational, but i can't stop the feelings.

i have half heartedly tried to make friends, but i find it too hard. i can't bring myself to do it. my roommate in this dorm always has friends over. i would love to make friends with them but cant find it in me to do so. i haven't made new friends in years, and whatever friends i do have i barely speak with anymore. whenever they come in i just stay in my room with the door closed as it always is. i feel trapped in here. i can't stand it in here. it feels like a hospital room and a jail cell at the same time. there are some periods where i hadn't been eating because i didn't want to leave my room. all i did was sleep, drink water, and go to the bathroom. the longest period of time. it feels like my m.o. is to avoid awkwardness at any cost.