PDA

View Full Version : Intense panic with paperwork. Is this anxiety?

SimB
12-07-2009, 01:12 PM
Hello, everyone. I have what seems like a unique problem. I'm a college graduate now, but I've suffered from this problem since the 6th grade, and so far nobody has given me a solution that works. Throughout school, I've always been regarded as very smart, but people are usually shocked to find out that I left high school and got my GED, and had some really terrible grades back then (17% in language arts in the 6th grade!).

It's not because I don't work hard, and has NEVER been because I don't understand the material. My problem is that when the homework or paperwork is in front of me, I freeze up and panic. I've been trying to do the paperwork to enter graduate school, but that same panic has come back, and it's driving me crazy. Generally, I'm a very mellow guy, but when I sit down with this stuff, just reading over the questions is enough to make me want to literally run away. If I force myself to sit down and do it, it only gets worse, until I'm angry for the entire day, I can't do any work, and repeat the entire process the next day without making any progress.

Regardless of people calling me a slacker or telling me that I just have to suck it up and work through it, I think I have a very real and serious problem. Certain things cause so much stress and panic that it's unbearable. It's a problem that makes life very hard, and nobody seems to get that I can't turn off my problem like it's a light switch.