PDA

View Full Version : First week of meds

okky
08-22-2009, 03:11 AM
Hi,

After having a rough time lately I decided to see my doctor and try some meds. I am a uni student and have been finding it really hard to concentrate and do anything much, so we thought we would try. She did warn me that they may not work. After reading some people thoughts on medication and therapy I think I will go back to my doctor and get refered to a therapist as well.

Anyway, this is my first week of meds and it has me on edge. The first day I had a bad anxiety attack so rang my doctor her halved my dose and that hasn't happened since. I have had bad nausea but it is slowly getting better. I was told the first week I will feel rather ordinary and then if I am going to see results it will take atleast a week or 2.

Is it normal to feel anxious and on edge the first week and will that subside? Or should I go back to my doctor and see if I can try something else.

Any thoughts would be great :)

Jodie

Nausea
08-22-2009, 05:30 AM
Hey Jodie,

I'm on my first week of Lexapro and went through the same thing. The first few nights I shot awake every forty minutes, full of energy and terribly nervous. I generally felt more edgy than I had before.

However, I spoke with my doctor about it and he reassured me that this is a normal side-effect, nothing to be concerned about. I should go away after one or two weeks. Already, I don't feel quite as razzed as I did during the first three days.

If you have something like Lorazepam, you can take that to try and keep your anxiety level down while your body adjusts to the meds. I've been taking one at night with my Lexapro so the Lex won't wake me up constantly, plus one during the day if I start to feel too jittery.