PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here find themselves doing this sort of thing?

Robbed
06-18-2009, 03:55 PM
Some time ago, while I was working on my master's degree, I ran into someone in the elevator after discussing my master's project with my professor. I had never met this person ever before (and never seen him since). But, for whatever reason, he seemed to be in a real talkative mood. He asked me about what I am studying, and we ended up spending the next 20-30 minutes outside in front of the building going on about the project, engineering (he was a grad student in electrical, and I am mechanical), school in general, and, well, whatever. All in all, it was definitely a good experience. But here's where things get strange. When I told people I know about the whole thing afterwards, I found myself going on and on saying bad things about this person, and the whole experience. I found myself saying that he was stupid for having interest in my project, that he was kind of nerdy (he was, but the same could be said about me. AND he seemed to be so in a good way), and that he was a dirty, filthy smoker (okay, he did chain smoke several cigarettes in that time. But that certainly doesn't make him a bad guy. And I never held that against him in the first place.). Did I do this because I disliked the guy, or my time spent with him? In all reality, I wish this sort of thing could happen to me ALOT more. It's more like I don't want to admit it to anyone. It's more like I do this sort of thing because I don't want anyone I know to think that I actually liked the guy and maybe even would like to have him as a friend. It's like letting them know about this would weaken me, and open me up to criticism by them. Has anyone here found themselves doing something similar? Or is this just me?

silentcheese24
06-19-2009, 09:01 AM