PDA

View Full Version : Not sure what kind of anxiety this is.....

d1nonly
06-03-2009, 11:32 PM
Hey Everyone,

I'm kind of new to this but glad I found it. Just looking for some insight. I've had anxiety for many years starting from early teens and I'm now 31. My anxiety has changed and shown itself in many different ways and different symptoms but I won't go through all the stuff I've experienced over the years. However, I would like some of your opinions about what I'm feeling these days.

Theres a few situations that make me extremely anxious and I try to avoid them at all costs. The first one is travelling in a vehicle with other people. Doesnt really matter who it is but it really gets to me. Also doesnt matter whether im driving or not. If I'm by myself, it doesnt bother me much. Also, the distance matters as well. The further a trip it is, the more anxiety. Obviously, this is embarrassing so I don't tell my fam, friends very much about it. About 8 yrs ago, I was driving a cab while in school and I had my first severe panic attack while driving a customer somewhere and I think it has been in my head ever since. But I've had good spurts where I have been able to deal. The only thing that really calms me down to the point where I don't care is alcohol and obviously I don't wanna be drunk and driving so........

I also have a fear of flying and get very nervous before interviews....... I think that covers my big ones. Like most of us, I think the anticipatory anxiety is worse than the situations.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!

fernandogress
06-09-2009, 12:35 AM
I am also with you.I appreciate the information you have laid out here.I'd be grateful too if someone could share his experiences.

RobinS
06-09-2009, 01:56 AM
First, don't use alcohol to calm you down when you want to drive a car - that's the worst thing you can do in this case.