PDA

View Full Version : anxiety is hurting my family

jdun
04-13-2009, 09:26 AM
Hi everybody, I am new to postng on these forums but have visited many times. I need the advice of someone who can relate. About 7 years ago while walking in a mall with my famiy I had a very severe panic attack. I thought I was dying, Im sure most all of you know exactly what I'm talking about. I went to the doctor and was put on meds that didnt work for me. My wife was very understanding and as supportive as she could be not really knowing the intense feeling that come with an attack.
I dont like to bring it up too much because its not something I just love to talk about. It is very embaressing(sp?) for me. When I dont talk about it for a while my wife thinks that it dosent bother me and that it just went away, this is not the case.
It has gotten to the point where I avoid normal, seemingly fun activities such as family outings, going to the movies or going out to eat. It is starting to hurt my wife because of the strain of having to deal with me and my anxiety. I understand how she feels because I feel that strain too, I would love to go out with friends and family without stressing the whole time, wondering if Im going to have an attack.
Because of the economy I only have a part time job that offers no insurance. I cannot afford to pay for a visit to the doctor out of pocket.
I need some help before anxiety and depression destroys my family. What options are available? Where can I go to get help, meds, what can I do? I need advice...

Darmstrong12
04-13-2009, 10:27 AM
jdun,