PDA

View Full Version : Low self esteem, anxiety, makes dating impossible.

j'aimelamusique
04-09-2009, 09:11 PM
Hi, so I'm new here but basically I've been suffering from general anxiety and social anxiety for pretty much the past 6 years. I'm a college sophomore and one of the biggest issues I've encountered since I started dealing with anxiety is dating. I've never really had a full blown relationship and I feel that a lot of the reasons why this is, is due to my anxieties. I have pretty low self esteem and I often feel unworthy of dating someone, especially if I find that person to be attractive. Even though I've had guys show interest in me in the past, I can't get past the fact that I don't find myself attractive or interesting. I never really dress up, use makeup, or act outgoing or engaging because in my case I feel like making myself as unattractive as possible will keep me from having to deal with rejection or the uncertainties of starting a relationship. I try to avoid romance at all costs because of how anxious it makes me but I also long to be a girl who feels good about herself and is able to be in a relationship. I'm sick of this paradox I've set up for myself and all I really want is to feel like it's not impossible for me to date. Does anyone have any advice on how I can get over my anxieties to making my dating life a little more simple?

dunky
04-09-2009, 11:11 PM
I know what you mean, I have problems low self esteem from rejection through my high school years and I feel I'm not attractive or worthy enough to be anyone's boyfriend. My anxiety is also a huge problem that further complicates my inability to stay in a relationship, and I honestly believe that if I were more outgoing that I wouldn't have failed in my last couple relationships.