PDA

View Full Version : engagement anxiety - help please!

balloon
04-06-2009, 03:00 PM
hi

i have read some really interesting stuff, alot of peple seem to feel the way i do but i really don't know what to do.

I suffer from anxiety and it is ruining my life. My fiance and i have already cancelled a wedding and worked really hard to make things right. She is beautiful, loving and has been really supportive. I have been seing a counsellor for about 6 months and that has been a real help. I have found out that early childhood illness and separation may be at the root of my problem.

This has all really helped and feeling much more in control I have just re-proposed to my fiance. However this has resulted in huge anxiety even though I have been feeling so sure. I love her and want a future but can't control the anxiety. I have been honest and told her but quite understandably she is finding this hard. What else can I do to help get this under control? What can I do to show her I can go through with this? Help please!

punisher
04-06-2009, 06:13 PM
Hi balloon,
Are you on any meds? If you have not already, ask your therapist about a maintenance drug (Lexapro, Prozac, etc) and an as needed RX (Ativan, Xanax). Then maybe after your wedding you and your Dr. can start weaning you off.

Before you do say the "I do's", make sure you have a very long chat with your partner about your condition. Explain to her exactly what you feel, every senstation, every fear. Do not hold anything back. If you suffer from panic attacks call her when you are having one. The reason I say this is because you both need to know now if she can handle it. If this is something you are going to have to deal with for the rest of your life is she going to be there for you. You owe her (and yourself) an out before you place those rings on each others fingers. What we have is not something that everyone can deal with.