PDA

View Full Version : I need some help

sitnbakwrds
01-24-2009, 10:37 AM
I'm so glad I found this forum. I need some advice from anybody willing to give it. I believe I have some type of anxiety issue but I'm not sure what course of action to take.

Almost every day that I wake up I have the strongest feeling of apprehension about the day ahead. So much so in fact, that my stomach is always nauseated which usually leads to vomitting. I hate to be to descriptive, but my vomitting attacks are usually a few dry heaves and I feel better for a while. Once I get that routine over with I'm good to go for most of the day.

On the days I work (I'm a firefighter of 11 years), I usually feel more apprehension than other days. Sometimes even while I'm at work, if we get a big call or I'm involved with training the apprehension reappears and that sick, nauseated feeling comes back. It takes everything I have to keep myself from dry heaving in front of others but I've been lucky to advert that embarrassment. I hate it and I'm sick of dealing with it.

Over the past seven months I've been involved in some extensive training at work that involves various interviews and test taking. On the days I have a test or a interview I have serious trouble even sleeping the night before. My stomach is a knotted, nauseated mess. As soon as I awake I hit the toilet and the routine starts once again. On some occasions, on real big and important test days, I've even had to pull over on the side of the road to dry heave my brains out.

I'm really at a lose for what is going on with me. I know that visiting my personal physcian is probably the first step to help. What do you all think? I'm so embarassed and discouraged even though I'm the only one that knows. My wife doesn't even know nor does the crew I work with at work. (As silly as it sounds, I run the sink and the exhaust fan in the bathroom and try and dry heave as quiet as possible hoping no one will hear me).