PDA

View Full Version : Whats ifs

leftie15
01-25-2006, 09:25 PM
hey been dealing with the what ifs for awhile now it seems they consume my mind and drive me nuts it seems like everyday i find some new fear to worry bout sometimes they just go but when i find a good one it stick like glue and you can't shake it free my most recent one is what if i freak out and hurt somebody i first had this because i'm a cook and a knife is a tool of my trade i was cooking fine and then it hit me what if i pick up the knife and hurt somebody i think about all those bad words kill murder etc.... i just can't get them out of my head constant over and over it sucks so bad going through the thinking OMG this might happen and even thought i know i would neva do anythin like no one deserves to die like that its just plain wrong but it seems i can't get it through my head its like my head is stuck on repeat i love to worry about anything else anybody have any suggestions they would really help

sunshine33
01-26-2006, 10:04 PM
Whats ifs are my speciality. Im the exact same way If i start worrying about what if....its stuck and won't go away till i talk to a therapist or a family member. You need to talk to someone and have them tell you what your thinking is Irrational and not to worry.

Do you keep yourself busy? I find when I "what if" Im bored and i have all the time in the world to think...which is bad for me! :(

H
01-27-2006, 06:28 AM
First of all, please reply to me, I'm struggling as are you, and could do with a chat to someone who suffers like me.

Well, anxious child, anxious teen, hit 18, full on panic attack, went to see shrink, got put on Seroxat, began to cope and enjoy life, no restrictions, come off tablets after 4/5 years gradual withdrawal, add a lot of stress and back to what if's.

Also a dodgy smear and a hospital appointment on the 1st February and I don't know what to worry about more.

Beating my anxiety or what the hospital will say.