PDA

View Full Version : Afraid to go away on holidays

raychie
12-02-2008, 03:43 AM
I have just organised to go away for Christmas with my partner, the thing is its a 2 day drive away and its freaking me out.

I'm not very good at going out of my "comfort zone " and this is a real stretch for me.
Im worried that I'm going to freak out why I'm away and wont be able to do anything to calm down. I keep thinking 'what if" I have a panic attack that I cant stop it, if I am freaked out I need to come home, what if I cant relax and have fun the whole time I'm away????

We are leaving in 2 weeks and I cant think of anything else but the stress of going. I cant sleep and every minute of the day Im thinking how can I get out of this?.

Is there anyone out there who is going through or has gone through anything like this? I need some help BIG time because I cant relax and its meant to be a holiday :(

xgemma06x
12-02-2008, 09:18 PM
Hi Raychie.

Last April we booked to go to spain for 2 weeks, and I wasnt happy but was scared to say anything about it.

I panicked and panicked and kept thinking what if i have a panic attack and what if die etc.

I put it off tried to make excuses saying i didnt have a passport and one day i just thought to myself you are not going to die, the worse thing that can happen is a panic attack, and i can deal with that.

I take 2, 20mg cipralex daily, so i made sure i had enough for my holiday, and took extra tablets away with me just in case.

I also got some diazapam from my doctor, and just having them there helped me be less nervous and scared.

If you keep worrying about what will happen, you will worry yourself in to a panic attack, i know it is hard, but just go, and just go with the flow, tell yourself nothing will happen, stay calm and ENJOY YOURSELF.

I went to spain and ended up having the best 2 weeks of my life, and didnt have a panic attack once, i actually forgot about my panic attacks and anxiety for the first time in a long time.