PDA

View Full Version : Making friends

meero
10-01-2017, 04:31 AM
Hi!

I've been struggling with anxiety for most of my life. Been on various medications, therapy ect. Worked really hard and now I'm happy to say that I'm mostly anxiety free.

BUT after so many years of being controlled by anxiety it's like I've forgotten how to make friends. Most of the people I know are through my boyfriend and any time I am being social it's together with him.

I would like to make some friends of my own. I miss being able to call someone up and hang out with them without my boyfriend coming with me. But I just can't seem to make that happen.

Any of you struggling with the same thing and have any tips for me? I feel completely lost.

Ps. This is my first time posting anything on a forum like this. Feel free to ask any questions if you need more information about the situation.

Anne1221
10-01-2017, 07:45 PM
Try to join any groups you can or take any classes you can. Exercise classes, yoga classes, arts and crafts classes, or join any groups you can. Volunteer - anywhere. Great way to meet new people. Are you in college or do you work?
What about church groups? Anyplace you can meet people is good!

gypsylee
10-01-2017, 07:45 PM
Hi and welcome :)

I know what you mean and don’t really have any tips, sorry. I’ve been more sociable and outgoing lately but it’s like everyone is just too busy and caught up in their own lives (kids, jobs etc).

Good luck.. I hope you find some sense of companionship here.

Gypsy x

ivanmiller
10-01-2017, 10:27 PM
Sometimes I meet someone through a friend and end up hanging out just with that person another day. So you can even ask one of the persons you met through your boyfriend for her mobile number and call a few days later to ask her to hang out.

littlestarsmum
10-04-2017, 10:38 PM