PDA

View Full Version : Can't focus with work?

willheal
04-03-2017, 06:24 PM
Lately my anxiety seems to get worse when I focus on work and I end up spending all day daydreaming and doing "productive procrastination" (doing everything except my #1 priority). It basically feels like I'm burnt out.

I'm sure this is common, what does everyone else do to get back on task?

JonB
04-04-2017, 01:40 AM
Procrastination stems from a fear... can you work out what it is you fear that keeps you stuck?

willheal
04-04-2017, 06:53 AM
It's a feeling of a resistance. If I sit for too long without making progress I start to feel a sense of resentment and as far as I can tell there's no surface level fear about doing it. The work is relatively easy and I've been doing it for 10 years. Usually on larger projects about a month in I'll feel a heavy resistance to continue. Any time I try and focus on it I forget what I'm doing or my mind drifts, the usual stuff. When I do get past the starting inertia it's all brain fog and amateur hour mistakes. If I pick up something else everything is crystal clear again.

I'm not ruling out there's some more complex subconscious thing going on. There is a lot of pressure to finish but even projects that don't have a deadline give me the same problem. For instance, I have another project that's gone by the wayside over a YEAR. It has about a week's worth of work and I'd get a significant amount of money to finish it but I'm actually trying to pay someone else to do it for me now to get it over with. I end up wasting time every time I try.

It's possible I've outgrown the work but I've had patterns of doing this since I was a kid. I can't finish anything that takes over a month to do. And I can't do the mental gymnastics required to have something feel "new" by splitting it into smaller chunks. It just feels the same.

JonB
04-04-2017, 07:48 AM
I've had similar issues. Struggling to finish things off.