PDA

View Full Version : Pre-Medicine Student with Health Anxiety

BeatAnxiety
01-20-2017, 08:34 AM
Hi guys!

I am new to this forum, but I wanted to let everyone know that health anxiety can affect anyone! I am a pre-medicine student currently in my junior year of college and I have had health anxiety since I was 16. Even though I am educated when it comes to human pathophysiology and work at one of the best hospitals in the nation, I still have had many irrational thoughts when it comes to my health.

Currently I am going through a relapse since anxiety can cause many symptoms which mimic serious diseases. My main symptoms as of right now are arm and leg weakness, tingling in my arms, legs and feet, muscle twitches, tremors, dizziness, sleep disturbances, burning sensations and more.

RossySoonDone
01-23-2017, 11:23 AM
That an interesting insight. I think for you to relapse you may not have fully cured yourself of anxiety the first time; by that I mean resetting your amagydala response back down to its normal birth preset. Its very uncommon for people who are anxious that then go into a true cured state to relapse just because the brains neural pathways have already built a defence towards it. Imagine how hard it'd be to forget to learn how to walk or tie your shoelaces? Anxiety is a conscious behaviour, it happens as an automatic response.

fixmybrokenmind
01-23-2017, 04:21 PM
Health anxiety is a real thing, I have dealt with it for years. Ironically anxiety is likely the cause of half of the health problems we worry about which causes a nasty little cycle.

Have you personally ever tried magnesium? You likely know a lot more about health than I do, but your symptoms coupled with anxiety may be caused by a magnesium deficiency.

RossySoonDone
01-23-2017, 04:40 PM