PDA

View Full Version : Quitting Smoking. Cold turkey.

darklazer32
01-06-2017, 12:29 PM
So, I know i already made one post.
But this is a very rough, roller coaster ride of emotions and moods that I've been experiencing the last week.

I was diagnosed with a GAD, a few years ago. And I've been smoking for 4-5 years. I know thats not very long, I'm only 21.
But I get these mood swings, Sometimes i just feel like crying even though I'm not feeling depressed or sad, and the rest of the time I'm just feeling normal anxiety stuff(feeling distant,disconnected, very worried about things)
I'm currently NOT on any medications for my anxiety. I've tried a great many and the side effects have not outweighed any benefits I've found. I'm currently only taking Adderall 25mg XR (Which is supposed to make anxiety worse) But honestly it helps me, by making me think clearer, having less out of control thoughts going through my head at a million miles an hour. Being less tired, thanks to the adderall also helps.

Question is, Anyone gone through this? How long can i expect this roller coaster of emotions to last?
What can i do to help myself?

gypsylee
01-06-2017, 02:12 PM
Hey and welcome :)

If Adderall helps it suggests you have ADD rather than anxiety disorder. I've had amphetamines and my anxiety goes crazy. Very basically, amphetamines help people with ADD because the part of the brain that controls impulses is actually underactive and the amphetamines speed it up so the person feels more normal.

Have you tried any benzos? It'd be interesting to see how those affect you.

I have to cut this short sorry because I need to get going but yeah, that was my first thought when you said Adderall helps.

Cheers,
Gypsy x

darklazer32
01-06-2017, 05:39 PM