PDA

View Full Version : Millennial girl trying to make it in the professional world

RunningForHisGlory
01-01-2017, 08:52 PM
Hi there,

I'm a recent college graduate and first year teacher. I've suffered from anxiety for my entire life and have been seeing my current psychiatrist for almost a year. I have an appointment to see my new therapist for a 6th session, which I'm stoked about because those are both records for me! I'm a bit cynical about seeing therapists, because you really do need to find the right one, and I (think) I finally have. I'm extremely self aware. I know my triggers, I know my issues, I know the underlying issues of my anxiety, I remember my first panic attack when I was 10, I remember being an anxious hot mess and not wanting to be around my friends during my Barney birthday party when I was 3 (yeah I know, oddly specific). So it's pretty discouraging when I go to a new therapist and they stay in shallow waters for several sessions trying to ask me probing questions in order to help me "understand myself". I totally get why therapists do that. It's so important, and there are so many people who don't understand the roots of their problems. And that might be the right person to go to for those people.

Unfortunately, anxiety is engrained into my being. I honestly don't understand how to live life with a different mindset. Like I can't even remotely comprehend it.