PDA

View Full Version : I have no path in front of me. Anxiety and depression is too much.

anxious_fred
09-26-2016, 11:54 AM
I don't know what to do anymore... I have bad anxiety where the moment I wake up I'm fearful and anxious, before a thought can cross my mind. My chest is tense, feels like a lot of pressure on it. Happens every day. I lied in bed for two hours today until it subsided enough before I got up.

I also have pretty bad depression. I'll be driving and just start crying. I can't enjoy anything. I'm feeling extremely guilty because my 1 year old pup doesn't know what's going on. Why I don't want to romp around the backyard or go for walks. Normally we're out two times a day. I can't enjoy playing games with friends, or watching shows. I've lived with anxiety all my life. Depression since I was in my late teens.

The worst of it is I'm 33. I was in community college for over 10 years. I'm not even sure I have an AA degree there. I transfered to a 4 year college at 31. Couldn't make it a week and dropped out. Tried again next year and couldn't make it two weeks and dropped out. I'm done with school. I just can't do it.

But then I'm in a circular thought process. I've had it hammered in me that I need a degree to get a career. And I can't do that. It's so much torture for me. I know I can't. It's not for me. But then I have anxiety that I'm not going to be able to get a reasonable job. I live in CA, I don't want to leave my family to live somewhere cheaper, but I can't live making 30k a year or less like I have been.

Speaking of jobs, I quit my horrible job in June. Long story short, I wasn't treated with respect, my concerns about my safety were ignored (I drove a delivery van with a heavy load with no steel barrier separating me from the back. So a hard stop and product is flying in the cabin) and it wasn't a job that had a place to advance. Plus the work was mind numbing.