PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and guilt

Sirzeke
07-10-2016, 09:01 PM
I've done some awful things in my life. I'm only a college student, yet I am haunted by memories of past mistakes I've made, even ones from early high school. I find myself fearing that these mistakes may be revealed one day, and that I will suffer the consequences.

Unfortunately, the mistake I made is one that many teens have made before, and I fear that it could still do potential damage in the future. My fear may be irrational, as there is nothing I can do now to fix it (the person I wronged has forgiven me) but I cannot seem to forgive myself. There is not a day that I'm not affected by anxiety or fear.

I did not have this problem until this past year, so I am confused as to why all of this guilt is coming now (4 years later). I'm sorry for the long post; hopefully you all have some advice or simply your own experiences with guilt you'd like to share.

- Blessings

Nowuccas
07-11-2016, 09:07 AM
Hey Sirzeke,

Some previous posts follow:

"There is no witness so dreadful, no accuser so terrible as the conscience that dwells in the heart of every man." - Polybius.

Realise, and accept that you, just like the rest of us, are only human, and therefore, fallible. We all make mistakes; do, or omit to do certain things, but the idea is to learn from them, and resolve not to make the same one again. Once having done this, it can be helpful to repeat an affirmation to yourself along the following lines, at least 3 times: "I may have made a mistake in ... ... and there are some things which can't be undone, no matter how much I regret it, so I firmly resolve to learn from this, and choose to forgive myself now, and move on".