PDA

View Full Version : Need help understanding my anxiety

tangotime123
07-01-2016, 06:34 PM
Hi everyone,

I've been having a lot of difficulty sleeping the past 2 weeks. There have been some nights where I'm still up while the sun is rising. I'm also starting to realize how I'm constantly having racing thoughts. When I sleep, read, take a shower, pray, my mind never stops thinking. I'm studying for a very important test in the next couple of weeks and am not performing to the best of my abilities because I can't concentrate. In addition, when I am studying I am getting very nervous and having a lot of thoughts of hopelessness and unworthiness. Also, my anxiety also stems from issues with the people in my life. Is there any advice you can give me with a) the racing thoughts b) sleeping and c) anxiety during studying.

Thank you very much!!!

Nowuccas
07-02-2016, 09:46 AM
Hey tangotime123,

Practise a relaxation method, daily, and when needed, such as: (free) http://altmedicine.about.com/cs/mindbody/a/Meditation.htm or http://www.wikihow.com/Meditate or Yoga Nidra, (a series of easy mental exercises only; no flexibility required) at http://anxietyforum.net/forum/showthread.php?34171-Questions-relating-to-troubles-with-meditation&p=224951#post224951 ).

They will enable you to emotionally centre yourself, when practiced regularly, and are valuable methods of helping you through life's bad patches. Learn them at least a few hours apart, and preferably on different days, in the morning, or early afternoon. Use the one you find most effective. A minimum of 10 mns is recommended; 15 is better, and 20 is ideally preferred.

Some previous posts follow: