PDA

View Full Version : getting over my ex

sazco
06-15-2016, 07:25 PM
I need help guys I've been missing my ex for about 10 months now and I'm doing everything I can to move on but it doesn't seem to go by fast enough. I have dreams about us breaking up at night and when I wake up I get real angry and upset about it. I stopped talking to her all together about a month ago but she's still in the back of my mind. What should I do?

Mr Hall
06-18-2016, 10:19 AM
Hi Sazco
It must be difficult to stop thinking about someone you used to care about. It seems to me however that your thoughts about your ex might be obsessive. There are ways to overcome these thoughts.

The most important thing to remember is that learning how to stop thinking about your ex is a habit that you CAN break. It takes energy and dedication at first, but you can stop the obsessive thoughts about the person you broke up with. Another thing to remember is that you are NOT alone– other people have gotten over their obsessive thoughts of their ex’s, and so can you.

A popular technique for overcoming obsessive thinking is to wear a rubber band around your wrist. When those obsessive thoughts come up, snap the band and replace your obsessive thought of your ex with a different thought, which you planned in advance. Your replacement thought should be something that makes you feel good. Learning that you can control your thoughts is a good tip on how to stop thinking about your ex.

Another way to stop thinking about your ex is to schedule time to think about your ex. This may seem confusing, but bear with me. If you can’t bear the thought of not thinking about the relationship breakup, then set a specific time to let your obsessive thoughts about your ex run wild.