PDA

View Full Version : Feeling mentally numb.

Murakawa
10-07-2008, 04:40 AM
Ok, some of this might not make any sense so I apologise in advance. I guess I'm after advice or really just someone to assure me that I'm not alone!

I'm 25 and this has been possibly the worst year of my life. I'm sure I've posted about my anxiety/depression before so I won't go into too much detail. To cut a long story short, I was put on meds for my problem. Cipramil - 20mg, which has now upped to 40mg a day. For the first couple of weeks taking it, I was anxious beyond belief. Then it died down and I thought things were improving.

Now I just feel dead. I'm mentally exhausted. I can't think properly. I'm a musician yet I can't be bothered to play. I've cancelled gigs because I don't have the energy. i've cancelled on friends because I can't be bothered to go outside. I feel alone, and afraid; more so than I did when I wasn't taking medicine.

I just can't see how something that is meant to help me is making me feel worse. I've been taking these for over a month now. Surely they would've kicked in...? Should I stop taking them or should I wait a bit longer? I guess I'm feeling a bit desperate and frustrated. I was holding out on meds because I thought they would be the easy option. I always saw them as a last resort. I've tried everything else. Talking to people, improving my diet, meditation, reading god knows how many self-help books. What else can I do? :(

Carla
10-07-2008, 01:50 PM
Hello! :)