PDA

View Full Version : Well, hello

A.shrink.in.the.making
05-09-2016, 06:45 AM
Hi. I'm kinda new here. Just signed up.
Not quite sure what I'm supposed to write here, so I'll just say I'm a med student, I'm 23, and I have been coping with depression and anxiety for many many years now.
Not currently seeing a doctor because, well it's a long story and it's sort of intertwined with my symptoms and way of thinking. Reason why I'm here? To put it simply, I have no one to talk to. The one friend that I had that was familiar with my life to this extent is gone now. Apparently, I'm a dick. And my family is beautiful but they too have a lot on their plates and I just can't bring myself to put them through all my bullsh*t again.
So that's it. I'm here to meet some kindred spirits, potentially even help someone with my experiences if I can.

TreeStar
05-09-2016, 09:48 AM
Hey
I love how you are thinking of your family (which means soooo means you're not a dick ;) )
Hopefully this place will help you, though I wish you would considered talking to a doctor. I understand you have your reasons. It took me a long time before I went to seek help from anytone in the medic proffession.

A.shrink.in.the.making
05-09-2016, 12:56 PM
Thanks TreeStar. I did use to go to a psychiatrist. And than about 2 years ago I decided to drop my meds and make it on my on somehow. It's ups and downs.

TreeStar
05-09-2016, 03:59 PM
I have never found meds that have agreed with me. It's brave to make it on your own, so long as you know there are people out there who can help you if you need it (there seems like quite a lot of support here).

I've been put on a 'Mindfullness course' that starts next week. I'm hoping that will help.

A.shrink.in.the.making
05-10-2016, 04:39 PM
Well I'm not big on relying on others but maybe that can change with a few nice people around here :) We'll see. Good luck with your course

Kirk
05-10-2016, 08:11 PM