PDA

View Full Version : Completely new to anxiety...need help

wpark2419
03-07-2016, 05:35 PM
Hi, as the title says, I am completely new to anxiety. I'm 30 years old and at the beginning of January I read online about an old neighbors of mine sudden death from heart attack. My first thoughts were how terrible, and how that has always been my biggest fear in the world. Within the hour I had my first anxiety attack and was positive my husband was going to die, my kids and I would lose our house and have nobody, blah blah. It was really bad. I was hyperventilating and had to sit down and nearly passed out. For about 2 weeks after that losing my husband was my every thought all day. I went to a doctor but couldn't see my regular on such short notice. I saw a lady doctor who I could tell thought I was insane. She made me have blood tests to check my thyroid and also an ekg because I told her when I get myself panicky my heart beats fast and feels irregular. Everything came back perfect. She hesitantly wrote me a prescription for Buspar and told me I need to go to a counselor. I could tell she thought I was insane. She kept making faces as I was describing how I felt. I took the Buspar for 2 weeks and during that time didn't notice any difference. Some days were okay, some terrible and filled with fear and sadness. I stopped taking it when I realized it was doing no good. Since then I convinced myself I was going to get cancer and die young, and at least once a day would break down sobbing trying to imagine how I would say goodbye to my 10 and 2 1/2 year old kids and how devastated my husband would be. One day about 2 weeks ago I woke up and was just extremely scared, but of nothing in particular. I just woke up with so much fear and sadness. It has not gone away yet. All day every day I'm just so scared and I don't even know what I'm afraid of. I'm not panicking about cancer anymore, it's just a general fear. With that fear is much sadness and I just don't know what to