PDA

View Full Version : hi, I'm lydia. this is my story or at least part of it

tobyjones
02-25-2016, 02:31 PM
Hey everybody, my name is Lydia, I'm 21 and have a daughter who is 10 months old. I recently started seeing a psychiatrist for the first time about 6 months ago. He has explained to me what I have been suffering from my whole life. I never knew how to put it into words or admit I had a problem, but now it is effecting me as an adult and I needed to get help.
When I was in 5th grade I was diagnosed with ADHD and started taking medication. It made me feel terrible, it helped me focus but would give me terrible headaches. I stopped taking it once i got to 9th grade, thats when i started "acting out" in class and not paying attention blah blah. Well, I fell behind until I couldn't catch up. I graduated high school but it wasn't because I deserved to, I didn't know any of the material, I passed because I was a senior and none of my teachers wanted to fail me.
I also suffer from OCD, it's hereditary in my family and the older I get the more prominent it is becoming. I use to keep things like my tooth brush, tooth paste, hair brush and all other toiletries in my room and away from everyone elses. I would have to use one drinking glass all day, or wash my hands after every time I'd go outside or touch certain things around the house. My room was a mess, but that was the best for me. I liked having everything where I could see it. I had to wash my clothes separate from everyone else in my family. I always thought I was just particular, but turns out its not normal to have to clean your house before you can go anywhere even if it makes you late, or have to buy plastic cups because your glasses just aren't clean, or have to wipe down the counters everytime you step into the kitchen.