PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and Insomnia

brucey
09-20-2008, 10:35 AM
Hiya,

I am new to this but thought i would just post the problems that I have been having and see if anyone has any advice or similar problems.
I recently found out that someone i was very close to in the past committed suicide and it has had a really bad effect on me. I am scared on my own at night and have had sleeping problems as well. I cant sleep on my own i need someone in the room. I picture the persons face in windows and mirrors and it makes me have heart palpitations and hot sweats. I hate being on my own at night and when i am trying to sleep i just feel so scared but i dont know what of. I am scared to shut my eyes and I have to have a light on. The sleeping problems have improved a bit because i am with my boyfriend but i am scared of being in a situtaion when i have to sleep on my own and I cant.

I feel so stupid because i am 21 and when i went home i had to have my mum in the bed with me. But I just get so worked up about it that i am terrified and if i do drop off the slightest noise wakes me up and usually i am dripping in sweat and my heart is beating really fast. I want to sort it out because i dont want this to happen whenever something bad happens in my life?

Any advice, does counselling help that is what people have suggested?

Sleeping tablets made it even worse.

Please help!

Thanks

northstar
09-20-2008, 03:52 PM
brucey, my deepest sympathies to you that you lost someone so tragically :console: and also that you are going through this horrible anxiety on top of it, i'm sorry it had such an effect on you.