PDA

View Full Version : Confused about relationship

poseguer
11-30-2015, 01:23 PM
Hello,
I have a lot of relationship anxiety and I need some advice. I have had depression and anxiety for about a year, I take medication and go to therapy every week. Recently I've been feeling upset with my boyfriend and even unsure as to whether I want to stay with him. I feel like I am always going above and beyond, worrying more about him, basically showing signs of codependency. But here's the thing: my boyfriend has NEVER asked or even implied that he wanted me to do these things. He's a very independent person, he's loving and caring, he spends more than enough time with me, emotionally available--everything I could possibly want. He's stuck with me through the worst of my depression and constantly tells me he loves me.

Lately I've just been so exhausted. I hate my job and feel very unfulfilled in my life. I graduated from college this year and he's still finishing school, and a lot of the time I feel resentful because I miss school so much. I feel like I've lost my sense of purpose, and I don't know who I am anymore. I guess since I graduated I haven't done much other than work and I feel like I've been relying on him too much. And obviously he can't be there to fulfill my life; I know I have to do that myself, I'm just having a really hard time.

So what I don't understand is why I'm so detached from my boyfriend. He has no behavioral or addiction issues. There is nothing out of the ordinary with him. And I logically know that I love him so much, but emotionally I'm having a hard time feeling it. Is anyone else going through this? does anyone have advice? Please help!

Im-Suffering
11-30-2015, 01:33 PM