PDA

View Full Version : Exam/silent room anxiety.

Fl0wergirl121
10-06-2015, 12:25 PM
Hello everyone! I've come here in hopes of achieving some advice or just to see if anyone feels the same way as I do.
I'm currently a high school student in my last year of compulsory education and this means lots and lots of exams. 16 to be precise.
I don't have to take any proper ones until May but between then and now I'm still going to have lots of mocks.
For me personally I have no problem with the exam content itself, I work hard to revise all the material so I'm not afraid of failure in that respect. my anxiety comes more from being in a big silent gym hall with around a hundred other people.
I don't know if anyone else has this issue but I get extreme anxiety in silent rooms or places. particularly when others are around.
the thing is when I get anxious it seems like every bodily function of mine seems to go insane. I get gas and my stomach rumbles a lot too.
As you can image I spend the majority of my time in exams focusing more on being worried about that then actually taking the exam.
I'm really worried because I don't want something so small to end up bringing down my grades so if anyone has any tips or advice or just if there's anyone who can relate I'd love to hear from you.
Thank you in advance :) xx

unknownme
10-06-2015, 05:38 PM
Can you bring water and chew gum? It sounds so small but it helps me a lot. Also, bring music if you can. To be honest, others are too focused on their exams to mind your tummy. I know anxiety makes you feel like a small thing is a huge deal to everyone but no one is really minding your business, they just want to pass their exam.
Good luck and don't sabotage yourself, you deserve better :)

Fl0wergirl121
10-07-2015, 09:03 AM
yeah, thanks for all your kind words :)
we are allowed to bring in water but unfortunately we can't listen to music or chew gum :(