PDA

View Full Version : New to anxiety

lharriman
01-01-2006, 06:51 PM
I'm a newbie to anxiety...i think. this past summer on my 25th birthday no less, i experienced something that now rules my life. I am a social worker and deal with my stress and other people's stressors on a daily basis. I was in ameeting when the room started spinning, i became sweaty, my ears popped, then i got tunnel vision. I left the meeting haiving the urge to run out into the cold air...anything to stop the hot flush that was like a wave over my body. Later on that day I continued fighting the same signs until finally I let a co-worker know and I was taken by ambulance to the ER. I passed all the tests and nothing was found. I was admitted overnight and still nothing. My PCP prescribed Xanax on an as needed basis but now I feel afraid all the time that I'm going to have another episode. I've had them everywhere now...with clients, at work, at home, sleeping at night. I know some of them are brought on by stress, but then there are times when they just come. I don't avoid situations yet but sometimes I feel so aware of my body that it's scary. Sometimes I feel that I'm watching myself function from the outside. What are some coping strategies that have helped others? Is this a progressive disorder...will it get worse.

karmica
01-02-2006, 01:10 AM
First of all - keep doing what you were doing before. Go to work, go places - do NOT avoid places. Once you start it's hard to stop and it can shut your life right down.