PDA

View Full Version : Severe University Anxiety

penney
10-05-2015, 06:28 AM
Hello, I just went through many many abrupt events in the past few months. If you're willing to just read this, I can't thank you enough.

For starters, I am a 3rd year university student studying business. Or, I was until recently. I just transferred schools to my "dream school" that I couldn't get into as a freshman. After living at home and commuting to a nearby university for my first two years, I felt like I was so ready to get out and move to the more prestigious school further away from home. I was so wrong.
I moved into an apartment by myself, and didn't know anyone in the new town. I was taking 4 classes. That included an accounting class that I had previously withdrawn from in spring semester due to failing tests with a horrible professor. And in the first month of the new class, I started to have panic while studying, and subsequently started doing poorly on the practice problems and homeworks in class. I was even going to one-on-one tutoring 5 hours each week.
At that point, I knew I wanted to change majors, so I withdrew from accounting again, since it wasn't going to count towards anything in the new major, and I wanted to stop struggling. Half of my family was furious about this, calling me a "quitter" and saying that I should've stuck it out as a "life lesson". Telling me that if I quit this class, then I would end up quitting everything difficult in my future. It was very discouraging.