PDA

View Full Version : College: What am I even doing?

ovenbakedbread
09-08-2015, 03:08 PM
So I'm a college freshman. Classes started a little over a week ago. First off, the college I go to is great. Everyone is very welcoming, the professors actually give a shit about you, and there are a ton of resources at my disposal. The problem is, I don't even think I want to be here. I only went to college because that's what everyone told me to do and it's a "safe" option (rather than getting a job straight out of high school or something). I've never been a classroom textbooky type of person and I suffer from anxiety and terrible TERRIBLE seasonal affective disorder. It doesn't help that my college is in a rural, cold area. Anyways, I just don't think I belong in college. I don't want to be here. I'm only doing it because my parents want me to. I've been on campus for a little less than two weeks now and I can literally feel it slowly draining me. It's like my sanity is slipping away little by little. I feel bad though because this is a good school and I'm not able to appreciate it. I don't want my parents to pay for something I'm not getting anything out of. I just sit in my room all day and only leave when I have class. I rarely even go to the cafeteria. This would be the perfect college for me...if I actually wanted to be here. But I don't. I can't deal. My urge to self harm is increasing and I haven't since early this year. I just want to go home. I don't know what to do. Advice?

Kuma
09-08-2015, 07:08 PM
Hi Oven. You got several responses to the prior thread you started, which raised essentially the same issue. Maybe have a look at those, to begin with. Beyond that, my only suggestion is to talk with someone in the college's counseling or mental health services office. They tend to be well equipped to deal with the sort of situation you are describing.

hongminh4k
09-09-2015, 07:30 AM
Hello - first of all we whish you have a nice working day