PDA

View Full Version : Stigma - do people really understand anxiety?

Sereen
08-09-2015, 09:49 PM
Hello!
I've had a lot of bad experiences ever since I started confiding to people about having anxiety for the first time. The first person I confided to, though a very close friend, didn't take it seriously and told me that it happens to a lot of people and that I'll get over it. Others, like my flatmates, will say they understand but when things are getting difficult they will treat me like I'm being a drama queen too. Also one thing I am sick of is being told to just 'calm down' or 'chill out', this happens usually multiple times in a day. People don't understand that my brain doesn't physically know how to just calm down or stop thinking and I'm tired of explaining it and constantly having to fight to be taken seriously, I just don't bother any more. Though their voices are now always in my head and I constantly feel the pressure to just 'calm down' and act normally, and each time when I just can't I get really mad at myself and incredibly frustrated, and it's a cycle that never ends. Additionally, I'm a medical student, so anyone who hears the word 'anxiety' come out of my mouth will instantly assume, no matter what I say, that my stress is linked to my studies rather than my genetics and hormone levels and it's something that all students experience and nothing more.