PDA

View Full Version : Hello

lechuzzles
07-25-2015, 02:55 PM
Hello.

OK, where to start.

I suffer from anxiety (naturally!), and in hindsight, have done for most of my life. I didn't have the worst childhood, I was well looked-after and never physically abused or anything, but I grew up with a lot of negativity, anger, and aggression in my life. My father would constantly (and still does) emotionally abuse, dictate, and belittle my mother, whom I was very protective of. I won't go into too many details but suffice to say, though it wasn't the worst childhood, it wasn't the best or most loving either. From an early age I was very familiar with hostility.

Despite this, I was always very positive. I was top of my class pretty much all the way through my education, and I use to see that as my 'ticket out', as it were, that I would one day make a success of myself in spite of the difficult familial relationships I had endured. At 22 I graduated university with first class honours, and since then, that illusion has faded somewhat. Like most graduates, I struggled to find the kind of work I wanted (and four years later, still haven't really), and each day feel less and less of a success. Stemming from this, my anxiety has grown and grown, almost as if it was just on 'pause' whilst I held on to an idealistic solution (graduating, getting a job, moving out, etc.). I believe now that the idea of 'success' was really the only tonic I had. Now that I no longer have that feeling of extrinsic achievement as a smokescreen, I look within and see issues I have avoided dealing with.