PDA

View Full Version : Taking Escitalopram (Lexapro) for the 3rd time

3rdtimearound
06-22-2015, 12:38 PM
Hi all, I have been reading posts on this forum but this is my first time posting.
A bit story of myself- I am 26, female, happily married to a supportive/understanding husband.
Last year in late March/April, my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer, and as the only child in my family, I was very stressed and feeling obligated to take care of her.
at that time I was working full time and taking classes at night (taking science prerequisites for either Physician Assistant or Nurse Practitioner program). My anxiety/depression started in the midst of me juggling my own busy life with her illness. I developed problems concentrating, difficult to put my thoughts into words, depressive moods, crying spells etc. I was put on generic lexapro in July by my primary care physician, it took about 4-6 weeks for me to be back to normal. I was feeling much better by September and I stopped taking my meds. One month later in early October, my anxiety/depression came back, I had no choice but going back on lexapro again, this time I stayed on it for 6 months.

This year April, I was feeling so motivated, happy, energetic, I was feeling super good - so! I quit taking lexapro cold turkey, didn't have too much side effects besides dizziness and headaches. I was feeling great until late May, i think that is when lexapro was completely out of my system. I was trying to tough this out and try supplements (fish oil, Vit B complex, magnesium, 5HTP) but nothing really helped.